Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Site Navigation Skip to Main Content


John O. Olvera '92 (sociology and history), M.Ed. '97, received the Patricia Behring Teacher of the Year Award from the Michigan Historical Society.

The Honorable Robin D. Pittman, Sociology 1991 and J.D. 1996, has been selected to serve on the Loyola University New Orleans College of Law Alumni Board of Directors. 

Sociology professor Dr. Jaita Talukdar published a book chapter titled, "The Before-And-After Template: Researching and Reflecting on Body Image Concerns in Globalizing India” in an edited volume on beauty practices across local contexts called "Global Beauty, Local Bodies."

Dr. Kathleen Fitzgerald's article entitled "The continuing Significance of Race: Racial Genomics in a Post-Racial Era" will be published in the February issue of Humanity and Society.

Dr. Carol Ann MacGregor, Department of Sociology, was presented with the 2013 Distinguished Article Award by the Society for the Scientific Study of Religion at the SSSR's Annual Meeting in Boston on November 9, 2013.

Dr. Talukdar, Assistant Professor of Sociology, talks about the study of body language and what certain non-verbal behaviors mean. Plus, she deciphers the body language of President Obama and other prominent politicians.

Dr. Jaita Talukdar's article titled "Rituals and Embodiment: Class Differences in Religious Fasting Practices of Bengali Hindu Women" was recently accepted for publication in a forthcoming issue of Sociological Focus.

Dr. Kathleen J. Fitzgerald, Visiting Associate Professor of Sociology, has a forthcoming race/ethnic relations textbook entitled "Recognizing Race and Ethnicity: Power, Privilege, and Inequality" by Westview Press (March 2014).

Sociology alumnus named Top Female Achiever by New Orleans Magazine.

Dr. Carol Ann MacGregor, Assistant Professor of Sociology, has been awarded a $41, 000 grant, in partnership with the Institute for Advanced Studies in Culture at the University of Virginia, to continue her work on Catholic Schools (K-12).


Filter Results: