Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Site Navigation Skip to Main Content


Kevin W. Welsh was presented with the Political Science Outstanding Academic Achievement award at the 2010 College of Social Sciences Honors Convocation.

Dr. Nathan Henne, assistant professor of Latin American Literature and Spanish, won the Marquette to produce a translation of Guatemalan author and indigenous activist Luis de Lión’s 1975 novel El tiempo principia en Xibalba (Time Begins in Xibalba).

Provost Distinguished Professor of History, Dr. Bernard Cook will present his paper, The Catholic Church in the United States and “Solidarity” at an International Conference in Wroclaw, Poland. The Conference is titled: The World towards “Solidarity” Movement 1980–1989.

After Graduating from Loyola with a Bachelor of Arts Degree in Philosophy, Deborah Drew received a J.D. from UC Berkeley School of Law (Boalt Hall). She works as an attorney at the Habeas Corpus Resource Center in San Francisco, where she represents indigent petitioners in death penalty habeas corpus proceedings before the Supreme Court of California and the federal courts.

Holly Gardner, Jonathan Lucio, Warner Sevin, and Jamal Lawson inducted to Sigma Pi Sigma Physics Honor Society

Lesley Lucas, Honors senior majoring in English/Writing, has received a position teaching English in France through L'académie de Poitiers. For the 2010-2011 academic year, she is participating in the Teaching Assistant Program in France sponsored by the French Ministry of Education.

Brett Bonin holds a Bachelors of Arts degree in Philosophy and a Juris Doctorate from Loyola.  He was elected to the Orleans Parish School Board (OPSB) in 2008, appointed to the Board of Directors of the Louisiana School Board Association (LSBA) in 2009, and is on the Board of Directors of the New Orleans Center for Creative Arts (NOCCA).  He was appointed to District Attorny Leon Canizzaro's Transition Team and Mayor Elect Mitch Landrieu's Education Task Force.  He is a practicing family law attorney, the Chair of the Louisiana Bar Association's Practice and Assistance Committee, and he moderated and taught the Bar Association's Ethics School.  While a philosophy student at Loyola, he volunteered with the New Orleans Police Department Crisis Unit and Continued to serve for a total of nine years.  He also volunteered with the Orleans Parish Civil Sheriff for eight years.

Martin McHugh, Assoc. Professor fo Physics, was awarded a $3,500 Princeton University Library Research Grant. He will use the funds to continue his research into the life and work of the physicist Robert Dicke.

Paul Primeaux received a Bachelors of Arts degree in Philosophy from Loyola and a Doctorate of Medicine from Louisiana State University School of Medicine.  He completed his Internship and his Residency at Tulane Medical School.  He is Associate Medical Director of the Tulane Center for the Advanced Medical Simulation and Team Training, Director of Abdominal Transplant Anesthesia, and Residency Program Director of the Department of Anesthesiology at Tulane Medical Center.

Eric Wilson received a Bachelors of Arts Degree in Philosophy from Loyola and a Ph.D in Philosophy from Emory University.  He received a Deutscher Akademischer Austuschdienst grant, won the Review of Metaphysics' 2007 Dissertation Essay Competition, and has published five articles.  After working as an assistant professor at Loyola University-Maryland, Dr. Wilson has recently joined the faculty at Georgia State University's Philosophy Department.


Filter Results: