Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Site Navigation Skip to Main Content


Seniors, Andrew Harper (ENVB '19), Shannon Hester (ENVT '19), and Arden LaGrone (BIOL '19) presented their research in the Undergraduate Mentored Research poster competition at the National Association of Biology Teachers on Saturday, November 10 in San Diego, California. They did a fantastic job and represented their respective Loyola programs and University to the highest standard.

Congratulations to Kayla Noto ’19 who was awarded 1st Place Oral Presentation in Science and Math at the 10th Annual LSU Undergraduate Research Conference in Baton Rouge October 26th for her paper, “Fentanyl Toxicity Deaths Surge as Opioid Epidemic Reaches Jefferson Parish, Louisiana”.


Loyola Environment Professors and father-daughter duo, Dr. Bob Thomas and Dr. Aimée Thomas, showcased some spooky creatures on WVUE Fox 8 News, including Dr. Bob's snake discovery and Rosie the Tarantula. 

Check out the video here.

Dr. Aimee K. Thomas, professor for the Environment Program and Biology, visited Ridgewood Prep Kindergarten students to discuss spider natural history. A good time was had by all, including the eight-legged helper. 

Drs. Bob and Aimee Thomas discuss spooky creatures on local news station. GO »

Aimee K. Thomas visited Ridgewood Prep Kindergarten students to discuss spider natural history. A good time was had by all. View the photo gallery here.

"American biologist and Loyola University New Orleans Chair of Environmental Communication Robert A. “Bob” Thomas has a new namesake – a species of snakes in the Galápagos Islands. Following decades of research, a snake species on the island of Santiago and Rábida now bears the name Pseudalsophis thomasi. The honor comes following more than 20 years working to classify the snakes of the archipelago."

Click Here to read the full article. 

As part of a segment on "creepy critters" for Halloween, Drs. Craig Hood and Patricia Dorn from the Department of Biological Sciences were interviewed by WVUE/FOX8 morning news show about their research on bats and kissing bugs, respectively. The clip can be viewed here: GO »

The Loyola Bat Lab, which includes Dr. Craig Hood and 6 Environment majors, are presenting and demonstrating Louisiana bats and bat biology in 4 events throughout the coming weeks. Dr. Hood talked about bat biology at the first event of the series last Sat. October 20 at the Jean Lafitte National Park. 

Click here to see what's next! 

Ella Hall (ENVB '19) and Abby Perez (BIOL '20), co-directors of Late Nights at Loyola, received the Loyola Strength in Diversity Grant to help fund Late Nights for this academic year.


Filter Results: