Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Site Navigation Skip to Main Content


Tirtho Biswas has been working on gravitational theories for the last several years. In a recent issue of "Physical Review Letters", one of the most prestigious journals in Physics, he an his collaborators published a paper on modifying the Einstein's theory of gravity.

Michael Kammer and David Vumbaco, Physics seniors, have presented their research at the Undergraduate Research and Collaborative Scholarship Symposium on April 12 and at the 22nd Annual Undergraduate Research Symposium on April 13.

Patrick Garrity has been awarded a research grant from the Louisiana Space Consortium (LaSPACE). The grant will fund an experimental investigation focusing on the development of geometrically patterned nanoscale materials to be used in critical flow measurement applications.

Armin Kargol, Assoc. Professor of Physics, received the Marquette Fellowship for Summer 2012. He will conduct research on the effect of nanoscale electric fields generated by nanopatterned electrodes and magnetoelectric nanoparticles on voltage-gated ion channels.

Carl Brans, Emeritus Professor of Physics, has been elected to a Fellowship in the American Physical Society for his outstanding contributions to physics, in particular "for developing the Brans-Dicke scalar-tensor gravitational theory alternative to Einstein's general relativity".

Patrick Garrity, Assistant Professor of Physics, has been awarded a research grant from the Louisiana Space Consortium LaSPACE. The grant will fund the Aerospace Catalyst Experience for Students (ACES) project which will begin in the spring semester of 2012.

The CAREER Program offers the NSF's most prestigious awards in support of junior faculty who exemplify the role of teacher-scholars through outstanding research, excellent education and the integration of education and research within the context of the mission of their organizations.

William Walker (Physics) and Whitney Radosti (Physics minor) presented a poster on “Low Speed Gaseous Flow Effects on Nanoscale Metal Films” and William Duhe (Physics) presented a poster on “Cosmology with p-adic Strings” at the LaSPACE annual meeting on November 5, 2011.

Tirthabir Biswas, Asst. Professor in Physics, has been awarded a $35,000 LA Board of Regents "Research Competitiveness Subprogram" grant. He will conduct research on "Numerical Explorations of the Cyclic Inflationary Model of the Early Universe.

Holly Gardner, a graduating physics senior, was awarded the prestigious presidential scholarship from George Mason University. Gardner minored in mathematics and computational science.


Filter Results: