Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Site Navigation Skip to Main Content


William Byrd (physics), Savannah Logan (mathematics), Cameron McCormick (physics), and Wayne Mitchell (mathematics) placed 4th among all teams from universities across Louisiana and Mississippi in the annual MAA mathematics competition.

Associate professor Ana-Maria Matei had her paper “On J. Cheeger and P. Buser type inequalities for the p-Laplacian” published.

Wayne Mitchell, Mathematics and Music double major, participated in the UROP International Program at RWTH Aachen University, Germany during the summer of 2012.

Professor Katarzyna Saxton had her paper “On the Influence of Damping in Hyperbolic Equations with Parabolic Degeneracy” published.

Professor Katarzyna Saxton was an invited speaker at the AMS-AWM Special Session on Nonlinear Hyperbolic Equations at the 2012 Joint Mathematics Meeting held in Boston, MA, January 4 – 7.

Jamal Lawson, '11, had coauthored a paper entitled "Embeddedness for Scherk Singly Periodic Surfaces with Higher Dihedral Symmetry," to be published in the Journal of "Involve: A Journal of Mathematics."

Leah Michelle Birch ('12) received a scholarship to attend the Ph.D. program in Applied Mathematics at Harvard University.

Ryan B. Harvey, '01, is now a data engineer with TED Conferences, the non-profit famous for spreading big ideas through their TED Talks.

Graduating math senior, Steffon M. Gray, has been awarded a Syracuse University Graduate Scholar for 2012 - 2013. This award includes twenty-four (24) credit hours of remitted tuition valued at $30,000.

Professor Michael Kelly was invited to speak at an international conference held in Beijing, China, June 20-24, 2011.


Filter Results: