Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Site Navigation Skip to Main Content

Dr. Don Hauber, Biology Chair, is the recipient of this year's University Senate Award for Service.

The recipient of this year’s University Senate award for service is Dr. Donald Hauber, Chair and Provost Distinguished Professor of Biological Sciences.  Professor Hauber joined the Department of Biological Sciences in 1984 and since that time has served his department, the university and broader community in many different capacities.  First, and most obviously, he has served as chair of his department since 2015. In this role, he has lead one of the university’s largest and most complex departments, serving multiple student interests from environmental studies to pre-health professions.  Professor Hauber also coordinates a popular interdisciplinary Loyola-Core Foundation course.

Professor Hauber’s broader university service is both extensive and deep. At the university level, he currently serves on SCAP, the Internal Grants Committee, the Academic Integrity Council, Student Retention Workstream. At the college level, he serves on the Curriculum Committee, Neuroscience Major Committee, Pre-Heath Professions Committee, the Dean’s Advisory Committee, and the CAS Endowed Professors Committee. As one of his colleagues notes, Professor Hauber is always prepared for every meeting, presents new ideas, listens, and negotiates well with others.  On top of all of this, Professor Hauber is deeply engaged in teaching and scholarship. His service also extends beyond the boundaries of Loyola through his volunteer work identifying plants for the City Park BioBlitz, planting marsh plants to restore local wetlands, and in active work supporting the Holy Name of Jesus Church.  Please join us in congratulating Professor Donald Hauber, this year’s recipient of the University Senate for Service.