Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Site Navigation Skip to Main Content

2020 College of Arts and Sciences Award Winners!

Congratulations to the 2020 Students, Faculty and Staff Award Winners!


Faculty Excellence Awards

Excellence in Advising Award

Dr. Martin McHugh, Department of Physics

Excellence in Community Service Award

Dr. Don Hauber, Department of Biological Sciences

Excellence in Research Award

Dr. Kate Adams, Department of English

Excellence in Teaching Award

Dr. Phil Bucolo, Department of Biological Sciences


Staff Excellence Award

Mona Wolfe, Department of Biological Sciences and Physics


Department And College Awards


Biological Sciences

The St. Joseph Pignatelli, S.J. Award for Dedicated Service and Achievement in the Biological Sciences

Chloe Dupleix

Abigail Perez

The Rev. John H. Mullahy, S.J. Award for Outstanding Achievement in the Sciences

Ariel Hall

John Tarpey

The Ruth and Lee Faust Award for the Outstanding Graduating Senior in Biological Sciences

Randall Carter


Chemistry and Biochemistry

The American Chemical Society Award for Outstanding Junior in Analytical Chemistry

Eleanor Bashem- Kelly

The American Chemical Society Undergraduate Award in Organic Chemistry

Andre Hebert

The American Institute of Chemists Graduating Award for Academic Excellence and Community Service

Sam Vasquez

The Bailey-Hopper Award for Service, Potential, and Academic Achievement

Ricardo Cruz

Mary Anne Yacoub

The Award for the Outstanding Student in Organic Chemistry 2019

Sam Vasquez

The Award for the Outstanding Student in General Chemistry 2019

Susan Thomassie

The American Chemical Society Undergraduate Award in Inorganic Chemistry

Andre Hebert



Outstanding College of Arts and Sciences Economics Senior Award

Alex Hernandez

Rana Thabata



Award of Excellence in Literature

Lisa Jackson

Award of Excellence in Writing

Victoria Gudino

Award of Excellence in Film and Digital Media

Samantha Ammons

Award of Excellence in Film and Digital Media

Thyme Hawkins

Julian Wasserman Outstanding Literature Major Award

Emily Gilheany

Madison Tuck

Outstanding English Writing Major Award

Ryan Mayer

Peggy McCormack Outstanding Film and Digital Media Major Award

Vanessa Calderon

The Dawson Gaillard Award for Poetry

Emily Gil

The Dawson Gaillard Award for Fiction

Lisa Jackson

The Dawson Gaillard Award for Best Essay

Samuel Tyree

The Dawson Gaillard Award for Best Script

Kathryn Miesse



The Most Outstanding Environment Major Service Award

Mariana Kendall 

The Most Outstanding Environment Minor Service Award

Allie Belcher

The Most Outstanding Environment Major Research Award

Katie Rompf



Outstanding History Graduate

Molly Mader

Outstanding History Senior Thesis

Claire McKenna - "Deus Vult? The Alt-Right's (Mis-)appropriation of Medieval History"


Languages and Cultures

Excellence in French Award

Claire Dulle

The Richard A. Frank memorial Award for Excellence in Modern Foreign Languages

Vanessa Calderon

The Honorary Consul of Spain in New Orleans Award

Marta Salazar

The Center for Latin American Studies Award

Katherine Herrick

The Solidarity Award for Outstanding Latin American Studies Student

Genny Polo

The Rev. Emmett M. Bienvenu, S.J. Award

Hera Bogdanos

The Thomas B. Lemann Award for Excellence in Classical Civilizations

Allie Belcher

The Classical Association of the Middle West and South Award

M.C. Davis

The Rev. Paul L. Callens, S.J. Award

Connor Kelly


Mathematics and Computer Science

Outstanding Mathematics Major Award

Andrew Brinsko

Outstanding Computer Science Major Award

Felecia Foy

Mignon Ann DeLashmet



The Rev. Guy Lemieux, S. J. Award for Excellence in Philosophy

Carissa Harlow

Robert Laurent

Bennett Plessala

The Rev. David A. Boileau Beneficia in Philosophiam Award

Carissa Harlow



The Rev. Francis A. Benedetto, S.J. Award for Excellence in Physics

Coleman Green

The Rev. Karl A. Maring, S.J. Award

Ariel Hall


Psychological Sciences

Outstanding Service to the University Award

Danielle Bass

Karen Chavez

Victoria Padilla

Professional and Academic Achievement Award

Rabiya Farooqui

Gerald S. Clack Community Engagement Award

Sarah Alonzi

Michaela Jones

Paddy Ann Doll Psychology Senior Academic Achievement Award

Randall Carver

Bevin Harris

Ashley Hart

Outstanding Research Award

Mollie Probst


Religious Studies

Outstanding Student Award

Robert Laurent

Best Essay Award

"Imagination as a Religious Category" - Robert Laurent


College Awards

The Reverend John H. Mullahy, S.J., and Donald C. Faust, M.D., Award for Outstanding Achievement in the Physical Sciences

Coleman Green

The Reverend Percy A. Roy, S.J., Memorial Award

Coleman Green