Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Site Navigation Skip to Main Content

Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry

Commitment to excellence

The Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry offers Bachelor of Science degrees in Chemistry, Biochemistry and Forensic Chemistry. Our faculty and staff are dedicated to the mission of providing both an excellent curriculum and a variety of exciting undergraduate research opportunities.


It is our mission to offer excellent instruction in all areas of chemistry to help Loyola undergraduate chemistry majors, other pre-professionals, and non-science majors learn college-level chemistry by offering a comprehensive curriculum. Find out more about our programs »



We pride ourselves on our commitment to our students and their success. We offer a number of undergraduate research opportunities » 

To help support our students in their research, please donate today to the Kurt R. Birdwhistell, Ph.D., Endowment for Undergraduate Research in Chemistry

Faculty Success

Two Professors of Chemistry Win Internal Grants

Grants were awarded to two professors of the Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry by the University Committee of Internal Grants. Dr. Qian Qin, first-year assistant professor, was awarded a Marquette Faculty Fellowship for summer 2016. She will explore, "Synthesis of Sulfur-containing Aromatic Compounds as Potential Organic Superconductors”. Dr. C.J. Stephenson, fifth-year assistant professor, received a Faculty Development Grant for his proposal entitled, "Formation and Testing of Novel Fluorescent Compounds for Sensing."

Congratulations to both professors. 

See all Successes

Student Success

Chemistry Students Present Research at 2015 Regional ACS Meeting

Seven chemistry students traveled to Memphis, TN on November 4-7, 2015 with Professor Lynn Koplitz to present their research at the Regional Meeting of the American Chemical Society. Three of the student presenters, Dayla Rich (`17), Nate Kamm (`18), and Nathalie Argueta (`18), work with Dr. Stephenson. The other four, Francesca Vaccaro (`16), Erin Larrabee (`17), Mary Claire Kramer (`18), and David Olivier (`17), do research with Dr. Koplitz. 

The posters presented are as follows:

See all Successes


Birdwhistell Endowment

Kurt R. Birdwhistell, Ph.D. Endowment for Undergraduate Research in Chemistry

Come see what we are up to.

The Department and ACS Student Affiliate Group host a variety of events. You can visit our gallery to see the pictures.