## **Annual College of Arts and Sciences 2017 Excellence in Community Service Award**

## Deadline for Nominations and Complete Packets: March 31, 2017 Please email nominations to Diane Riehlmann – riehlman@loyno.edu

Nominations are requested from individual students, alumni, faculty members, student organizations, and department chairs/unit leaders for the Annual College of Arts and Sciences Excellence in Community Service Award. This award is granted to a person who has demonstrated a commitment to benefiting the Loyola community and the community at large. Service to Loyola includes serving on committees, serving as a guest lecturer, and other activities that will benefit the life of Loyola. Service to the larger community includes serving on civic committees, making presentations, presenting musical performances, engaging one's students in meaningful service learning activities and other activities that enhance the reputation of the University. All current CAS full-time faculty members are eligible for nomination, with the exception of the faculty members on the CAS Awards Committee and faculty members who have previously received this award.

The award will be presented at the CAS Honors Convocation, May 12, 2017. The winner will be notified by April 28, 2017.

## **NOMINATION/AWARD CRITERIA:**

- 1. Required material for each category shall include:
  - a. Curriculum Vitae (CV)
- 2. Optional materials
  - a. One letter of support from the principle nominator
  - b. One letter from the nominee explaining qualifications for the award
  - c. One letter of support from a colleague (may have multiple signers)
  - d. One letter of support from a student (may have multiple signers)
- 3. Letters of support shall be no longer than 250 words.
- 4. In selecting winners, the committee will give priority to faculty achievements of the last three years.

## Due March 31, 2017 by email to riehlman@loyno.edu

- No members of the Faculty Excellence Award Committee may nominate or write letters of support
- Additional materials or letters will not be considered
- Winner will receive \$1,000

Faculty members serving on the Faculty Excellence Awards Committee in Community Service are Dr. Leonard Kahn, Dr. Rosalie Anderson, Dr. Michael Kelly, Dr. Rian Thum, Dr. Kelly Frailing, Dr. Leslie Parr and Dr. Nathan Henne