College of Arts and Sciences College Assembly Thursday, March 16, 2017 Bobet 332 12:30 p.m. – 1:50 p.m. AGENDA

- I. Call to Order
- II. Invocation Dr. Ashley Howard
- III. Approval of Minutes February 16, 2017
- IV. Announcements
 - President's Open House March 18th
- V. Reports
 - Retention Report Brad Petitfils, Liz Rainey, Robert Bell
 - Project Magis
- VI. Old Business
- VII. New Business
 - 1. Motion to amend College Planning Team section of handbook (Attached)
 - 2. Motion to amend College Rank and Tenure Committee section of handbook (Attached)

Attachments:

Motions:

Proposed Handbook Revisions:

College Planning Team (CPT) MEMBERSHIP

Seven ordinary faculty members serve on this committee. Two faculty representatives (and one alternate) are elected from each division of the College (the Humanities, the Natural Sciences and the Social Sciences). One faculty member (and an alternate) is elected from the Dean's Advisory Council. Elections are held in the spring and completed by April, with no two members from the same unit.

The terms for these seven representatives are three years (staggered following the first election so that there will be continuity). The terms are renewable.

In addition, the Dean will appoint one representative each from SCAP and SPT. The Dean will also appoint an alternate from each of these committees. The terms for these two representatives are one year, renewable. These appointed members serve until their replacement is appointed.

The Dean is a voting member of the Committee.

The Dean and a faculty member elected by the Committee will serve as co-chairs.

NEW LANGUAGE

MEMBERSHIP

Four ordinary faculty members serve on this committee. One faculty representative, (and one alternate) are elected from each division of the College (the Humanities, the Natural Sciences and the Social Sciences). One faculty member (and an alternate) is elected from the Dean's Advisory Council. Elections are held in the spring and completed by April, with no two members from the same unit.

Deleted: Seven Deleted: Two Deleted: S

College Rank and Tenure Committee (CRTC)

MEMBERSHIP

The Committee shall consist of nine tenured faculty members, three elected from each division of the College. Alternates from each division will also be elected. All full-time tenured faculty members are eligible to be elected, except those holding administrative posts and persons serving on the University Rank and Tenure Committee (URTC). Only one member from any unit may serve on the Committee at a given time. Members shall serve staggered three-year terms. Faculty members will recuse themselves when the CRTC considers and discusses their promotion application.

NEW LANGUAGE

MEMBERSHIP

The Committee shall consist of nine tenured faculty members, three elected from each division of the College. Alternates from each division will also be elected. All full-time tenured faculty members are eligible to be elected, except those holding <u>upper</u> administrative posts (<u>Unit</u> <u>Leaders can serve in the CRTC</u>) and persons serving on the University Rank and Tenure Committee (URTC) or the <u>University Conciliation Committee</u>. Only one members from any unit may serve on the Committee at a given time. Members shall serve staggered three-year terms. Faculty members will recuse themselves when the CRTC considers and discusses their promotion application.